top of page

Mutation March Day 2! -Ferret-


Slinky fellers done got in the chicken coop

- - -

“Tatzelwurm”

“It got into the chicken coop last week. Brought a bunch of its friends an chewed through the fence. Caused a real ruckus. Ate Bethany, which is real poor luck, cuz Beth were always my favorite. Prolly wanted to eat the rest of em, too, but Jonah done shot it right in the head and all it’s friends scattered. Jonah says he ain’t never seen anything like it, that we oughta donate it t’the museum, but Pa didn’t like that idea. Said it was prolly just so big cuz the Robertson’s was using them fancy new fertilizers now. Jonah and Pa cut the back legs off, made me a nice hat n mittens n a scarf too! But b’fore they could cut anymore and make new stuff Ma said she didn’t like it and that we should just bury the thing, so we did, right by the woods. But yesterday, it came back again! Got into the chicken coop same way as last time, with all its same friends. Didn’t manage to eat any more of the chickens, though, Jonah said it seemed a lot jumpier. Says he don’t like what’s goin on. Pa says it ain’t nothin t’worry about, there’s prolly just a nest of em, somewhere, we just gotta find it and blow it t’bits like any other ol’ gopher home. I dunno. I jus know I ain’t gonna be wearin my mittens or my hat or my scarf til Jonah can get a good look at its back legs… Maybe we should keep the chickens inside tonight. They can sleep in my room!”

8 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page