top of page

Mutation March Day 4! -Seahorse-


Pretty proud of this delightful dotted dandy!

- - -

“Kelpie”

“Went to the beach again today, to go see that thing. Couldn’t tell you why, but the kids seem to love it. All it does it swim up to us and float there. Just kinda sways with the waves and stares up at all the kids with its beady little eyes. It seems just as fascinated with them as they are with it. Gives me the heeby-jeebies. Never been a huge fan of seahorses, always thought they just looked weird. Like, I mean, come on, you can’t just look like any of the other fish? Gotta be a weird, stiff, spiny, elongated pipe cleaner of an animal? Never seen a seahorse this big, either, but hey, I’m no fish expert. The kids got all excited once, said look, look, it’s a mommy! Now I know I said I’m no fish expert, but I’m pretty sure I read somewhere that it’s the dads that get pregnant for these things. Plus, I don’t think those are babies in its pouch, they kinda just looked like regular grown-ass seahorses. But again, I won’t claim to know much about fish. Y’know what, though, the more I stare at this thing, the more I start to like it, I think. It’s comforting. Makes me feel… Protected. Kinda… Kinda reminds me of my own dad, yeah… We gotta… We gotta… Wait, what am I even saying? This thing looks nothing like my dad! God, I need a drink. Seahorses, man. Really freak me out."

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page